ABBOTTABAD: The election of the Abbottabad Press Club (APC) and Abbottabad Union of Journalists (AUJ) was held in Abbottabad Press Club. Office bearers for both bodies were elected with consensus, Raja Muhammad Haroon President, and Raja Munir were elected as General Secretary for Abbottabad Press Club (APC) whereas Saqib Khan President, and Atif Qayyum elected as General Secretary of the Abbottabad Union of Journalists (AUJ).

According to the details, the Election of Abbottabad Press Club (APC) and Abbottabad Union of Journalists (AUJ) to elect the office bearers for the years 2023-24 was held in Abbottabad Press Club. In that regard annual joint meeting of the general bodies of both bodies was called.

In the joint meeting, after healthy discussions, office bearers for both bodies for 2023-24 were elected with consensus according to the majority decision.

According to the result, for Abbottabad Press Club Raja Muhammad Haroon President, Sardar Naveed Ahmed Senior Vice President, Sardar Rashid Khan Vice President, Raja Munir General Secretary, Haroon Tanoli Joint Secretary, Dildar Ahmad Sati Assistant Secretary whereas Asif Mehmood elected as Secretary Finance.

Likewise, for the Abbottabad Union of Journalists Saqib Khan President, Juma Khan Senior Vice President, Tahir Mehmood Vice President, Atif Qayyum General Secretary, Atif Hussain Joint Secretary, Jameel Ahmad Jameel Assistant Secretary, and Sardar Tauqeer elected as Secretary Finance.

Earlier, the general body meeting of both APC and AUJ was jointly chaired by APC President Sardar Naveed Alam, GS Sardar Shafiq President AUJ Raja Mohammad Haroon, and GS Nadeem Jadoon. In the meeting, both bodies were unanimously dissolved and elections were announced for the year 2023-24.

In the joint meeting, a three-member election commission was formed to conduct a new comprising Syed Ijaz Hussain Shah, Sardar Naveed Alam, and Muhammad Shahid Chaudhry. The election commission with the consultation and consensuses of all members announced separate new bodies for the Abbottabad Press Club (APC) and the Abbottabad Union of Journalists (AUJ).

The new president of APC Raja Muhammad Haroon, General Secretary Raja Munir Khan, President AUJ Saqib Khan, and General Secretary Atif Qayyum in their address paid thanks to the members for showing their confidence in them and assured them for utilizing their all energies for the welfare and betterment of the journalist community and to promote positive and healthy journalism.

In the joint meeting performances of the former bodies of the Abbottabad Press Club and Union of Journalists were discussed in detail and appreciated. Approval for the expenditures of the last years was also obtained from the joint session of the Abbottabad Press Club and the Union of Journalists

  • By: DR. Muhammad Pervaiz Akhtar Awan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »