ISLAMABAD (Agencies): In a significant development, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has secured victory in the election for the National Assembly (NA) speaker. Out of a total of 291 votes cast, Sadiq garnered an impressive 199 votes.

The outgoing speaker, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, confirmed the vote count. Among the valid votes, Sadiq emerged as the clear winner, while his opponent, Amir Dogar, backed by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), received 91 votes.

This election outcome holds immense importance for the functioning of the NA, and Sadiq’s election as the new speaker will shape parliamentary proceedings in the coming term.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »