Peshawar (Khyber Mail): The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has secured a decisive majority in the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly, paving the way for the party to form its government for the third consecutive term in the province. The PTI’s provincial president, Ali Amin Gandapur, is poised to become the next Chief Minister of KP, marking the third time a leader from Dera Ismail Khan will hold this position.

  • Ali Amin Gandapur:

Ali Amin Gandapur’s Victory: In the recently concluded general elections, PTI-backed independent candidates clinched National Assembly and provincial legislature seats across several districts in KP. Gandapur himself emerged victorious on the NA-44 seat from Dera Ismail Khan, securing 93,443 votes. His win solidified the PTI’s simple majority in the 145-member KP Assembly, where 73 seats are required to form the government. The PTI-backed candidates have already bagged 76 slots in the provincial legislature, eliminating the need for coalition partners’ support.

  • Atif Khan’s Nomination:

Meanwhile, the PTI leadership has nominated Atif Khan for the position of Prime Minister. Khan, a seasoned politician and former KP Minister, brings extensive experience to the table. His track record includes successful governance during the PTI’s previous terms in the province. If elected as Prime Minister, Khan will lead the federal government, steering the country through critical challenges and opportunities.

  • Hat-trick:

Hat-Trick for PTI: This marks the third consecutive time that the PTI will form its government in KP, completing a remarkable hat-trick. In 2013, Pervez Khattak assumed the role of Chief Minister, followed by Mahmood Khan in 2018. Now, Ali Amin Gandapur is set to continue this legacy of PTI leadership in the province.

  • Reserved Seats and Defection:

Despite securing a majority, the PTI-backed candidates contested the polls independently, which means the party will not receive any reserved seats for women and minorities. Additionally, Article 63A of the Constitution, dealing with disqualification on grounds of defection, will not apply to PTI members, allowing them the freedom to leave the party without repercussions.

The political landscape in KP is poised for change, and all eyes are on Ali Amin Gandapur and Atif Khan as they prepare to take on their respective roles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »